SkillsFuture Study Award for
Infocomm Technology
Infocomm Media Development Authority (IMDA)
Accurate as of 03 Jan 2022
Programme is not available for application.
Sector Overview

Infocomm technology (ICT) is a key enabler for every industry, contributing to Singapore’s economic and social growth. It has greatly enhanced Singapore’s competitiveness by raising productivity and transforming business processes in industries like finance, business services and manufacturing. Singapore is also an Infocomm technology hub to many multinational technology companies, large local enterprises as well as a growing and vibrant tech start-up ecosystem.

As Singapore builds towards a digital economy, the ICT jobs across various sectors will more towards higher value-add knowledge work and Intellectual Property creation, leading to demand for more technical IT specialists, in areas such as IT Development, Artificial Intelligence and Cyber Security. Exciting career prospects abound for individuals who are keen to forge a rewarding and fulfilling career as an ICT professional. Acquiring ICT skills can further open up pathways and opportunities in various sectors.

Everyone, including working professionals and companies of all sizes, can also turn to the TechSkills Accelerator (TeSA), for continuous reskilling and training opportunities to develop their ICT skills. TeSA offers various programmes to support current ICT professionals and non-ICT professionals to upgrade and acquire new skills and domain knowledge that are in demand, and to stay competitive and meet the challenges of a fast-moving digital landscape.

Eligibility Criteria*
  • Singaporeans with at least 3 years of ICT work experience. Internships/part-time/vacation jobs will not be taken into consideration.

  • Not a previous recipient of any SkillsFuture Study Award

  • Not a recipient of any Government-funded scholarship/sponsorship for the same course

  • Courses should be relevant to the needs of the ICT industry

  • Applicants should not have completed their course at the point of application
  • Applicants will only be given the official offer of the Study Award upon submitting a proof of acceptance/enrolment into the course

  • Priority will be given to applicants who:

      • are able to complete the course latest by December 2023; and
      • have nett-payable of at least $5,000 (after all subsidies/sponsorships).

Public officers are not eligible for the SkillsFuture Study Award as the Public Service is committed towards the skills deepening of public officers. Government agencies offer a range of training and development schemes to support the skills upgrading of public officers. As such, public officersare encouraged to apply for the in-house schemes instead of the SkillsFuture Study Award.


Please submit the following supporting documents for IMDA’s evaluation: 

  •  A copy of your resume / CV
  • Scanned copy of Letter of Acceptance/ Matriculation from the institution;
  • Scanned copy of proof of payment such as past invoices/receipts
  • Course curriculum / outline on selected course of study
  • Certifications/ Transcripts and Portfolio
  • Confirmation if you are receiving any other form of sponsorships/scholarships/subsidies for the course and the details.
  • Applicants aged 40 years old and above may be entitled to the SkillsFuture Mid-Career Enhanced Subsidy.

    Please provide a letter from the Institution to confirm on the following:
    - If applicant is eligible for the subsidy
    - Actual course fees payable after the subsidy

  • Referral letter (if any)

Examples of Supported Courses

The following are some examples of courses that can be considered:

  • Master of Science in Business Analytics

  • Master of Computing in Infocomm Security

  • Master of Technology in Software Engineering

  • Bachelor of Computer Science

  • Bachelor of Information Technology

The list is not meant to be exhaustive and IMDA will review and consider other courses as long as they are relevant to the needs of the ICT sector.

Application Period

Application: 29 November 2021 to 31 December 2021


Evaluation Process

Evaluation of applications will take at least 12 weeks  after the application closing date. Only shortlisted applicants will be notified.


  • Applicants who have met the eligibility criteria do not automatically qualify for the SkillsFuture Study Award.
  • IMDA’s decision is final and binding. Enquiries or disputes on or in connection with its decisions will not be entertained. 
  • IMDA reserves the right not to disclose the reasons for approving or rejecting any application, and to reject any incomplete application.
  • IMDA is not liable or responsible for the accuracy, reliability or completeness of content or information published on other third-party websites on or in connection with the SkillsFuture Study Awards.